PHLEBOSTHENE PROJECT

Complete system for body volumetrics and quantitative study of biomechanical parameters in human member veins, enabling personalized configuration of compression treatments for venous insufficiency and lymphedema.

Establishment(s)

University of Montpellier, CNRS, CHRU Montpellier, CHU Nîmes

Laboratory(ies)

LIRMM, CHRU Montpellier, CHU Nîmes

IP

Patent

Desired Partnership

Start-up - Licensing

Context

Medical compression represents the most effective way to treat chronic venous insufficiency and lymphedema, reducing parietal venous pressure and edema by relieving symptoms and slowing down disease progression. However, while the action mechanisms of compression orthotics have been the subject of extensive research efforts, the exact conditions for adapting to patients’ individual characteristics to optimize therapeutic results are less well known.

Benefits

 

Phlébosthène constitutes a clinical tool that is able to adapt the prescription and delivery of elastic compression orthotics to the individual characteristics of a patient’s venous return and three-dimensional member volume. It optimizes efficiency based on an objective clinical evaluation over time. Phlébosthène optimizes the treatment of chronic venous insufficiency and chronic edema by offering effective patient monitoring and personalized prescription that leverages biomechanical characteristics and 3D member volumetrics.

Applications

Manufacturers of compression orthotics, prescribers of elastic compression (doctors, physical therapists, nurses), entities providing elastic compression medical equipment (orthopedists-orthotists, pharmacies), hospitals.

PHLÉBOSTHÈNE

Système complet de volumétrie corporelle et d’étude quantitative des paramètres biomécaniques des veines des membres permettant un paramétrage personnalisé de la compression pour le traitement de l’insuffisance veineuse et du lymphœdème.

Etablissement(s)

Université de Montpellier, CNRS, CHRU Montpellier, CHU Nîmes

Laboratoire(s)

LIRMM, CHRU Montpellier, CHU Nîmes

PI

Brevet

Partenariat recherché

Start-up - Licensing

Contexte

La compression médicale représente le traitement le plus efficace de l’insuffisance veineuse chronique et du lymphoedème pour réduire la tension pariétale veineuse et l’œdème en soulageant les symptômes et ralentissant l’évolution de la maladie. Cependant, si les mécanismes d’action des orthèses de compression ont fait l’objet de nombreux travaux de recherche, les conditions exactes d’adaptation aux caractéristiques personnelles des patients pour l’optimisation du résultat thérapeutique restent mal connues.

Bénéfices

Phlébosthène constitue un outil clinique permettant d’adapter la prescription et la délivrance d’orthèses de compression élastique aux caractéristiques individuelles du retour veineux et du volume tri-dimensionnel du membre du patient. Il en optimise l’efficacité sur un critère d’évaluation clinique objectif dans le temps. Phlébosthène optimise le traitement de l’insuffisance veineuse chronique et des œdèmes chroniques grâce à un meilleur suivi des patients et à une prescription personnalisée à partir des caractéristiques biomécaniques veineuses et de la volumétrie 3D du membre.

Applications

Fabricants orthèses de compression, cabinets prescripteurs de compression élastique (médicaux, kinésithérapeutes, infirmiers), structures délivrant des dispositifs médicaux de compression élastique (orthopédistes-orthésistes, pharmacies), hôpitaux.